Marine Corrosion Club logo


Minutes of the General Meeting held at The Palm Court Hotel, Aberdeen, in conjunction with ICorr, Aberdeen branch, on Tuesday, 16th April 2013.  



Robin Oakley (Chairman) – QinetiQ
Gary Masters (Vice-Chairman) – E.ON New Build & Technology
Phil Dent – Exova
Robin Jacob - CP Consultancy
Carol Powell - CDA
Brian Wyatt - Corrosion Control
Jean Tuck – MCF Secretariat

Members & Guests

Lian Ling Beh – Oceaneering (ICorr)
Richard Baily - Impalloy
John Blewett – BAE Systems
Audrey Boule - Exova
Simon Bowcock – BP Exploration (guest)
Frances Chalmers – Centrica Energy Upstream (ICorr)
Garry Corbett – Independent Corrosion (ICorr)
Giles Corbett – Heatric Ltd
Gary Craig – Shell UK Ltd
Andrew Drach - University of New Hampshire (guest speaker)
Muhammad Ejaz – ENGTEQ (ICorr)
Sarah Etubus - Wood Group (guest)
Chris Fowler – Exova
Rory Gallacher – IMG Composites (guest)
John Galsworthy - QinetiQ
Tony Gerrard – BAC Corrosion Control
Chris Googan – Anticorrosion Engineering Ltd (ICorr)
Stuart Hamilton - Lloyd’s Register EMEA
Steven Hankins – Corrpro Companies Europe Ltd
Seyed Hosseini - Lloyd’s Register EMEA

Rob Howard - Lloyd’s Register EMEA
Mark Jackson - GE Oil & Gas (guest)
Jeppe Jensen - Danish Technological Institute (ICorr)
Lee Jones – MACAW Engineering Ltd (guest)
William Kelly - Aker Solutions
Terry Lester – Metallisation (guest)
Xiuqing Li – Heatric Ltd
Steve McCoy – Special Metals
Steph McIlreavy – BAE Systems
Andy Mather – Rolls-Royce
David Millar – BAE Systems
Dave Moore – BP Exploration (ICorr)
Eugene Ogosi – Flexilife Ltd (ICorr)
Tolu Otekalu - Aker Solutions
Liam Overend - Exova
Kevin Paterson – Deepwater EU Ltd
Steve Paterson – Shell UK Ltd
Alistair Seton – Genesis Oil & Gas (ICorr)
Torben Lund Skovhus - Danish Technological Institute (ICorr)
Ivan Richardson – Copper Alloys Ltd
Stuart Spence – GE Oil & Gas (guest)
Tony Staines – Langley Alloys
Pat Stokes – MACAW Engineering Ltd (guest)
John Thirkettle – Thor Corrosion (ICorr)
Geoff Warburton – NeoNickel
Kevin Wheeler – WES Ltd (guest)


David Armstrong - Lloyd’s Register EMEA
Charlie Barraclough – Commtech Associates
John Baynham – BEASY
Richard Dawson - Lloyd’s Register EMEA
Roger Francis - RFMaterials
Graham Hill – ECHA
David Hillis – Total E&P UK

Briony Holmes – TWI
Jagath Mawell - MoD
Richard Perkins – Aish Technologies Limited
Jan Przydatek - Lloyd’s Register EMEA
Keith Stokes - DSTL
Clive Tuck (Committee) – Lloyd’s Register EMEA
Mike Wilson – BAE Systems

The Chairman, Robin Oakley (QinetiQ), opened the meeting.  


1.1    Keynote:  Copper Alloys in Marine Environment: Corrosion, Fouling, and Mechanical Behavior’, Andrew Drach, Dept of Mechanical Engineering, University of New Hampshire, USA  

1.2   Nickel Alloys in Subsea and Downhole O&G Applications, Steve McCoy, Special Metals PCC Energy Group

1.3  The SOHIC Story, A 30 Year Project
, Chris Fowler, Exova


2.1    The representatives from Heatric Ltd asked about ‘Corrosion rate calculations for life determination of stainless steel’.  None of the members could offer an industry accepted methodology for guaranteed life expectancy determination for this material in warm chloride containing water. Robin Okaley (QinetiQ) suggested that as the main corrosion mechanism was likely to be pitting, which has ‘stochastic’ or probability-based initiation and growth elements, it would be difficult to estimate a single life figure, based on a constant corrosion rate. A probabilistic assessment might be possible, but this could be difficult to explain to non-specialists in the sales and customer community while also not providing the necessary assurance of an absence of failure during the required equipment lifetime.


3.1  'Reflections on 25 Years of Corrosion Management in Oil & Gas Production', Steve Paterson, Shell UK Ltd

3.2   Varanus Island Incident: A Technical Review of Lessons Learned, with Applications to European Gas and Oil Pipeline Operators
, Brian Wyatt, Corrosion Control

The Chairman closed the meeting at approx. 4:50 pm  


The meeting was followed by a meeting of ICorr, Aberdeen branch:-

Diagnostic Prediction & Control of MIC in the Oil and Gas Industry, Torben Lund Skovhus, Danish Technological Institute

MCF home page